Feature Image

The Governor and Mr Howard this week were pleased to be able to hold investitures at Government House Victoria in person once again.


The Governor and Mr Howard this week were pleased to be able to once again hold in-person investitures at Government House Victoria. Over the coming weeks, many Victorian awardees in the Order of Australia will be invested with their honours, which they were awarded in both the Australia Day and Queen’s Birthday Honours Lists.

Among the many recipients invested this week was Mrs Robyn Anderson of Pascoe Vale. Robyn was honoured with an OAM on Australia Day, for her many years of service to children through hospital charitable organisations. Robyn has been involved with the Royal Children’s Hospital Foundation in many roles since 2006, and prior to that served as both a volunteer and as Secretary of CasKids (formerly known as the Nunawading Auxiliary). Robyn was recognised as a Living Treasure by the Royal Children’s Hospital Foundation Auxiliaries in 2006.

Also honoured on Australia Day was Ms Noeleen Dix, who was made a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to netball at both a state and national level.  Noeleen has been involved with both Netball Australia and Netball Victoria in many different roles since 1976, firstly as a player, and then later holding many positions including Board Director of Netball Australia between 2003 and 2006, before holding the position of President and Chair of Netball Australia from 2006 to 2016.  Noeleen was honoured in the Netball Victoria Hall of Fame in 2017 and was presented with a Netball Australia Service Award in 2018.

Former Premier of Victoria the Honourable Ted Baillieu was made an Officer of the Order of Australia on Australia Day this year.  Mr Baillieu served in the Parliament of Victoria as the Member for Hawthorn between 1999 and 2014, and as Premier of Victoria between 2010 and 2013.  Mr Baillieu was also heavily involved in the Victorian Liberal Party prior to his election into Parliament, serving as President between 1992 and 1997, after having held the position of Vice-President, and as a member of the Federal Executive.  Since leaving Parliament, Mr Baillieu served as the Chair of the Victorian ANZAC Centenary Committee and served as a board member for many organisations such as the Breast Cancer Network, Tourism Victoria and the Australian Children’s Television Foundation.

Many inspirational Victorians were honoured during 2020  – to nominate someone deserving of recognition for their service to others, visit this website for information on how to nominate them for an Australian Honour.