Feature Image

This week, three ceremonies to invest the recipients of the Order of Australia Queen’s Birthday 2022 Honours took place at Government House Victoria.


Australia’s system of honours and awards recognises an individual’s excellence, achievement or meritorious service and contribution to our society.

The awards and honours are announced twice a year on Australia Day (26 January) and on the Queen’s Birthday in June.

The Governor awards Victorian recipients at investiture ceremonies which are held at Government House several times each year. 

The Governor and Mr Howard hosted three ceremonies this week to invest the recipients of the 2022 Queen’s Birthday Honours list. The recipients at this week’s ceremonies have each made their contribution to the community in diverse ways, ranging from service to charitable organisations, medicine, conservation and the environment, government, the creative industries to sport.

Among those recognised this week were Sister Brigid Marie Arthur AO for distinguished service to social welfare, particularly asylum seekers and refugees, and to Catholic education; Philip Brass AO, for distinguished service to business, to youth leadership and charitable organisations, and for philanthropic contributions; and Clinical Associate Professor Catharyn Johanna Stern AO for distinguished service to gynaecology, to reproductive medicine and fertility research, and to the community. Each are Officers in the General Division (AO).

Several members of the community were recognised for their contributions to sport, including Meghann Moira Lanning AM for significant service to women's cricket at the elite level; Jakara Anthony for service to sport as a gold medallist at the Beijing Winter Olympic Games 2022; and the late Shane Warne AO, for his distinguished service to cricket as a player, role model and commentator, and to the community through charitable initiatives, and for philanthropic contributions.

Louise Dyskin OAM and her husband, the late Eric Ayre Gordon OAM were both recognised for their service to the Jewish community of Melbourne; while Dr Stephanos Herodotou OAM was recognised for his service to medicine, and to the Cypriot community of Victoria.

Finally, those recognised for their contributions to the creative industries include Linda Rose Bull OAM and Vika Veiongo Bull OAM, for service to the performing arts; Dr Harold Fabrikant AM for significant service to the performing arts, and to medicine; and Sharyn Veronica Mullens Taylor OAM for service to amateur theatre.

The Governor gave an address at each of the ceremonies, where she thanked the recipients for their contributions and urged people to nominate those around them who might also be worthy of such a recognition. Read more of the Governor’s speech here.

To watch recordings of this week’s ceremonies, as well as past ceremonies, visit our YouTube Channel.

For some categories of award, such as awards in the Order of Australia and Bravery Awards, nominations can be made by any person and at any time.

For information about how you can nominate someone for the Order of Australia or a Bravery Award, please visit here.

The Governor has particularly urged Victorians to ‘nominate worthy women as well as men, those born overseas as well as those born here, and those from every field of endeavour and every part of our State. The more our individual honours reflect who we are, the more enriched we are collectively’.