Feature Image

Today, the Governor conducted a ceremony to swear in Professor James Angus AO as the fifteenth Lieutenant-Governor of Victoria. 


Professor Angus has had a distinguished career as an academic and biomedical researcher, particularly in the fields of pharmacology and cardiovascular disease.  He earned a Bachelor of Science in pharmacology with Honours and a Ph.D. from the University of Sydney.  

Professor Angus has been an Honorary Professorial Fellow and Professor Emeritus of the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences at the University of Melbourne since 2014, and was the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences from 2003 to 2013.  Professor Angus worked at the Baker Medical Research Institute in a variety of roles for over 15 years, and was appointed Deputy Director of the Institute in 1992. 

In 1974, he was a NHMRC Senior Research Officer at the Hallstrom Institute of Cardiology, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital & Department of Medicine at the University of Sydney, and the Baker Medical Research Institute. In 1977 he received the NHMRC CJ Martin Travelling Fellowship to work with Sir James Black, who would go on to receive the Nobel Prize for Medicine in 1988. 

Professor Angus was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in the Queen’s Birthday list in 2010 for distinguished service to biomedical research, particularly in the fields of pharmacology and cardiovascular disease, and he was awarded the Centenary Medal in 2003 for services to pharmacology and the community.  

The role of the Lieutenant-Governor is to deputise for the Governor when required, most commonly when the Governor is out of Victoria. Learn more about the role of the Lieutenant-Governor here.

Professor Angus replaces retiring Lieutenant-Governor Ken Lay AO APM, who has been in the role since November 2017.